Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books

NOTE: The 2020 Battle of the Books was cancelled due to the COVID-19 closures. Dates for the 2020-2021 Battle of the Books will be announced at a later date.

Battle of the Books is a free annual book-based trivia tournament that promotes literacy and a love of reading. It’s for elementary school children in Barrie and Oro-Medonte in grades 4 to 8.

Participating schools will put together a team of students who will work together to read as many books as possible from our annual book list. The Teacher-Librarian (or other adult acting as team coach) can assist students by helping to divvy up the book list, hold practice trivia games, or complete other games and activities that will encourage the students to read as many books as possible, work together, and have tons of fun.

The Barrie Public Library will support teams by visiting them at their schools for additional fun and games, and to help teams prepare for the semi-final battles and Grand Battle. Additional visits or meetings can be arranged with library staff upon request. Both the Downtown and Painswick locations will have multiple copies of each book on the annual book list that students can sign out on their library cards.

To find out how to participate or for more information, contact Serena McGovern


Battle of the Books Materials

Introduction and Rules 

Book List


Community Support

Thank you to Domino's Pizza for providing free pizza to our top 5 teams, Menchie's Frozen Yogurt for providing Player of the Game certificates to all of our participants, and to the City of Barrie for providing the Five Points Theatre for our Grand Battle event.

Past Winners

Congratulations to West Bayfield Elementary School on their victory in the 2019 Grand Battle!

Congratulations also go to the Radical Speed Readers on their silver medal and to St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School on their bronze medal. The other Grand Battle finalists were Codrington Public School and Hewitt's Creek Elementary School.

Thank you also to the following schools for supporting this program and demonstrating such great team spirit in the 2019 semi-final battles: Algonquin Ridge, Ardagh Bluffs, Assikinack, Emma King, Ferndale Woods, Guthrie, Mapleview Heights, St. Bernadette, St. Monica's, St. Nicholas, Trillium Woods, and Warnica.







2019 West Bayfield Elementary School
2018 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2017 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2016 Codrington Public School
2015 Codrington Public School
2014 West Bayfield Elementery School
2013 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2012 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2011 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2010 St. Monica's Catholic School
2009 St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Elementary School
2008 Codrington Public School
2007 West Bayfield Elementary School
2006 West Bayfield Elementary School
2005 St. John Vianney Catholic School
2004 West Bayfield Elementary School
2003 Ferndale Woods Elementary and St. John Vianney Catholic Schools
2002 Free Your Imagination community team
2001 West Bayfield Elementary School
2000 Ferndale Woods Elementary School
1999 Book Bugs Homeschool Team
1998 Oakley Park Public School
1997 Oakley Park Public School
1996 Oakley Park Public School
1995 St. Monica's Catholic School