NoveList

NoveList

What’s inside: NoveList puts you in control of finding your next favourite book. Find recommended reads and suggested authors for adults, teens, and kids, and browse popular fiction and non-fiction books and series by genre, read-alikes and what your reading ‘mood’ is.

Where to find: Access the NoveList website directly or through the library website on the Home > Digital Library > Read page. You will need your library card number and PIN when you’re accessing NoveList from home or outside the library.

Getting started: Video tutorial

Devices: You can use via a web browser on your computer, smart phone, or tablet.

Have a look around NoveList using tabs from the homepage, such as browsing books by age, fiction or non-fiction, or by moods such as “offbeat and engaging”, “leisurely paced and descriptive”, or “sweeping and lyrical”.

Try searching for a favourite book in the search bar. You will find tons of information about the book, including a description, genre, themes, writing style, media mentions, and reviews. On the right-side of the screen, you will also see read-alikes for that title. Hover over the read-alikes to find out more about the book and if it might be a good fit for you.

Another way to use NoveList is to look up popular new titles that might have a longer wait time at the library. You can find read-alikes to scratch the itch of reading a certain genre while you wait for your hold to come in!


Read-alike description for Pretty As a Picture, a read-alike for The Maid by Nita Prose:


You can do the same thing by searching for your favourite author to find other authors who have a similar writing style.

 

You can also search by Series or Narrator (for audiobooks) to find even more read-alikes or listen-alikes.

Use the tabs at the top of the page to browse by different genres, appeals, themes, or by award winners and audiobooks. The Quick Links tab provides resources to author read-alikes, book to movies adaptations, or finding out about new genres through the Genre Outlines link. Finally, the How Do I? tab helps you navigate NoveList if you need any assistance.

See the Read section in our Digital Library for more content and resources: https://www.barrielibrary.ca/digital-library/read

Have questions or need help? Reach out! 

askus@barrielibrary.ca
705-728-1010