Leadership Team

Chris Vanderkruys

Director, Business and Development & Acting Co-CEO

Chris oversees the areas of Development and Fundraising, Finance, Marketing, Facilities and Volunteer Services. 

Email: Christopher.Vanderkruys@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7137

Lauren Jessop

Director, Customer Experience & Acting Co-CEO

Lauren oversees the areas of Public & Branch Services, Literacy, Programming, and Community. Lauren holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Guelph and earned her Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of Western Ontario.

Email: lauren.jessop@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7007

Karen Barratt

Manager, Collections & Information Technology

Karen is responsible for our library collections in all formats, the technical services that support these collections, and our Information Technology infrastructure, hardware, and software. 

Email: Karen.Barratt@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7010

Genevieve Chittenden

Manager, Literacy, Programming, and Community

Genevieve is responsible for outreach and programming for adults, children, and teens. Genevieve graduated from the University of Western Ontario with an Honours Bachelor degree in Classical Studies, and a Masters degree in Library and Information Science. She has been working in public libraries since 2006 and continues to be passionate about literacy for all ages.

Email: genevieve.chittenden@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7017

Laura Lafleshe

Branch Manager, Painswick

Laura manages the staff and services at the Painswick branch. 

Email: laura.lafleshe@barrie.ca 
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7805

Jane Little

Manager, Human Resources

Jane joined the Barrie Public Library in 2018 and has almost 25 years’ experience in the Human Resources field. She is responsible for recruitment, HR policies and procedures, health and safety and labour relations. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in French Literature from the University of Toronto and is a Certified Human Resources Leader (CHRL).  Her first job in high school was as a Page at the London (ON) Public Library.

Email: Jane.Little@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7503

Tracy Latimer

Manager, Business and Operational Support

Tracy manages the finances and facilities of the library.

Email: Tracy.Latimer@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7085

Alison Schroeder

Manager, Service Delivery

Bio coming soon. 

Email: Alison.Schroeder@barrie.ca 
Phone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7130