MyBPL

New MyBPL - Get Started Today!

iPad showing new myBPL catalogueIn December, the way you borrow items from the library will be changing - for the better! Our new catalogue includes many exciting features to help you find exactly what you want. Check it out here!

Create your new username. Log in with your current library card number and PIN. You will be prompted to create a unique username that will make it easier to access your account in the future!

Manage your account.  Your account allows you to easily track your check outs and holds, renew items, and create reading lists to record what you've read/watched and what you plan to read/watch next.

Manage your privacy settings. You decide how much or how little you want to share. To set your privacy settings, login and go to My Settings. Under Privacy, click My Shelves and My Feeds. Your Borrowing and On Hold information is always private.

Place a hold with just one click. Skip the step of selecting a library every time you place a hold. Set up a preferred location and place holds with just one click. To set this up, log in and click My Settings --> Hold and Pickup Location.

Get organized. Use virtual Shelves to organize everything you have read, listened to, or watched or that want to check out from the library later. To see your Shelves, log in and click My Profile --> Shelves.

Explore.  This new catalogue makes finding the materials you're looking for easy!  Use common search terms such as "movies" or "new books" to search our collection.  Digital and physical items are displayed in the search results letting you choose the format that best suits you.  Use the staff lists for recommendations.

Connect with BPL and a community of readers. See what Barrie Public Library and other readers are reading and recommending. Follow BPL staff or other readers who have chosen to share their lists and recommendations. You can rate items, post comments and create lists.

Tell us what you think!  Over the next month, we're testing out the new catalogue and would love to have your feedback.  Each page has a "Submit Feedback" button to make it easy for you to send us your comments.  Our old catalogue will still be available until the end of December 2020.

Learn More with tutorials and walkthroughs at our Digital Library Academy.

Why is there a new catalogue?

Our new catalogue gives you the opportunity to share your knowledge and experience with the Barrie community and with other library communities who are using BiblioCommons. You can rate and review items, share your reading lists using My Shelves or share recommendations on topics using My Lists. If you choose to use My Shelves and My Lists, you can decide which lists and items to share and which to keep private.

How do I register?

  • Visit https://barrie.bibliocommons.com
  • In the top right, click Log In / My Account.
  • Click Log In / Register.
  • Enter in your barcode and PIN. 
  • The site will prompt you to register an account, choose your username, and set your preferences.  The next time you log in, you can use either your username or Library card number.

Why do I need to register?

Registration sets you up to manage your MyBPL account from one location - search for physical and digital items in one catalogue, renew items, and easily link to place holds. Registration allows you to create an easy to remember username to log in, interact with other library patrons, get personalized recommendations, and contribute ratings and reviews. Since this catalogue is a new service the library is providing, users have to be aware of and agree to the terms of use.

Why do I need a username?

The unique username is because the new catalogue has additional optional functionality, like commenting on books and keeping track of your reading.  The username will show if you post content through the new site’s social features, so don’t put any personally identifiable information there. It also makes logging in easier because you can choose your username, but you can still log in with your barcode if you prefer.

Will other people be able to see my borrowing history?

No. Your borrowing history will never be shared with others. The new catalogue has a lot of social features, but they are completely optional. If you do nothing different with the new catalogue than you did with the previous one, none of your activity will show. It’s only when you add comments or add titles to your shelves that your activity is shared publicly and even then, you can make all of your shelves private to only you.

Can I transfer my lists from Encore?

Yes, If you used the My Lists function in our previous online catalogue, you can import these into MyBPL. During the registration process for BiblioCore you can click the Import List Items button. We recommend doing this as soon as possible.

If you had more than one list of  saved items in our old catalogue, they will all be imported as one big list and added to the For Later Shelf in your MyBPL profile.  Your For Later Shelf should now be populated with all of the titles you saved in lists in our previous online catalogue.

Follow the steps below to import your saved lists:

  • Click your username near the top of the screen
  • Click For Later Shelf in the drop-down menu
  • Click Import list Items

If you do not do this during registration you can get to this button by going to your myBPL profile and viewing your 'For Later' shelf.

What's the difference between shelves and lists?

Shelves are a way to track your own reading – For Later, In Progress, and Completed. Lists are for sharing recommendations with others.

How do I see what material I’ve borrowed in the past?

First, you’ll need to enable borrowing history if you want to keep a record of this. Under the account menu, click “Settings”, and then Borrowing History to enable your borrowing history.  If you had borrowing history enabled in Encore, our old catalogue, it should import your borrowing history over to the new catalogue.

How do I find material to put on hold?

Click the “Search” button in the top right, or use any of the browse pages to see recommendations and new titles.

From the search results, you’ll see a “place hold” button. If you’re logged in, you’ll be able to place a hold. If you’re not logged in, you will be prompted to log in.