Leadership Team

Marc Saunders

Chief Executive Officer

Marc joined to the Barrie Public Library in 2016 with 14 years’ experience in senior management roles in libraries.  He is passionate about promoting literacy, is a great believer in the value of community partnerships and is very interested in the evolving public library service model.  Marc led the development of our 2017-2019 Strategic Plan that will guide our goals and priorities for the next few years.

Email: Marc.Saunders@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7500

Chris Vanderkruys

Director, Business and Development

Chris oversees the areas of Development and Fundraising, Finance, Marketing, Facilities and Volunteer Services. 

Email: Christopher.Vanderkruys@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7137

Lauren Jessop

Director, Customer Experience

Lauren oversees the areas of Public & Branch Services, Literacy, Programming, and Community. Lauren holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Guelph and earned her Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of Western Ontario.

Email: lauren.jessop@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7007

Genevieve Chittenden

Manager, Literacy, Programming, and Community

Genevieve is responsible for outreach and programming for adults, children, and teens. Genevieve graduated from the University of Western Ontario with an Honours Bachelor degree in Classical Studies, and a Masters degree in Library and Information Science. She has been working in public libraries since 2006 and continues to be passionate about literacy for all ages.

Email: genevieve.chittenden@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7130

Laura Lafleshe

Branch Manager, Painswick

Laura manages the staff and services at the Painswick branch. 

Email: laura.lafleshe@barrie.ca 
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7805

Julie Ross

Manager, Human Resources

Julie is responsible for managing the Human Resource services, policies and programs at the library.  She ensures that the Library makes optimum use of its staffing resources, and that best practices in HR are developed and implemented.

Email: Julie.Ross@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7503

Karen Barratt

Manager, Collections & Information Technology

Karen is responsible for our library collections in all formats, the technical services that support these collections, and our Information Technology infrastructure, hardware, and software. 

Email: Karen.Barratt@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7010

Tracy Latimer

Manager, Business and Operational Support

Tracy manages the finances and facilities of the library.

Email: Tracy.Latimer@barrie.ca
Telephone: 705-728-1010 ext. 7085